Does an EE Bachelor stand a chance for an MD degree?

perfectionming

I am an senior EE undergraduate who is currently doing my undergraduate thesis on computational neuroscience. I find myself really interested in medical study and wish to become a physician in the future.

After some basic research, I understand that I will have to take MCAT in order to be considered. Although it would be tough for an EE student, yet I have one year (after graduation) to study for it, meanwhile working as a research engineer on computational neuroscience.

Does this sound even possible? That is, am I able to obtain a satisfactory MCAT result with my one-year part-time efforts? Besides MCAT, what else is a top medical school (e.g., HMS) looking for among its applicants?

Thanks a lot in advance for the advice!

P.S.: In fact, I stand a good chance for the admission to a top EE PhD program. So what I am aiming for is actually a MD-PhD program. Will it be even more competitive as compared with a single MD program?

So while this is not my field persay, I was pre-vet during my first degree and pre-vet background is quite similar to a pre-med background with the addition to animal science courses. And with both fields (med and vet), in order to apply, they at the very least need to see that you have the prereqs (biology, chemistry, physics, etc) and that you have done well in those courses. Based on your major and the fact that you said you stand a good chance for PhD program, I am sure you would be suitable to apply for a medical school. 

There's a forum similar to this one called the "student doctor network", just it's all about medical, dental, veterinary, etc schools. http://forums.studentdoctor.net/

I would take a look there and you might find some people in similar shoes or just find more specific information. Hopefully I've helped  (even though my knowledge is minimal :P ) and good luck!