Bad GPA; Discouraged But Still Determined

itzbobbeh

tl;dr at the bottom.

Hey guys, I'm new here and I will do my best to keep my post brief, but I still would love for some advice from you guys.

So I'm a recent college graduate (with my BS in biochemistry) and my undergraduate final GPA is a 2.9, which I am aware that it is pretty low. I am applying to one or two biochem PhD programs and like three or four MS programs. 

I applied to 2 biochem PhD programs and 2 MS programs during my senior year, and didn't get accepted anywhere. 

Here are some basic things about my grad school application that you can take into account:

GRE: V/Q/A --> 153/154/3.5.... Planning on retaking it before applying to Fall 2015 programs.

Experience:

UNDERGRAD: 1 year and 3 months of independent research. 1 summer semester as a lab TA. 1 semester as a lab assistant. 5 months as a lab technician. 5 total months at a government internship. 

POST-GRAD: 2 months (and currently employed) as a medical school research technician. Recently appointed as project manager in the lab and will be managing/running 1 to 2 projects soon. 

Letters of Rec:

1 from undergrad research P.I. (who can attest for my research experience), 1 from post-grad technician job (should be pretty good, doing really well at work), and 1 from a senior seminar course professor (can attest for my academic motivation despite my GPA)

With all this said, is it advisable to apply for 2 PhD programs? My "reach" school is not very highly ranked, and my other PhD school is the same university as the one I'm currently employed at now. Not applying to any top-tier programs. 

Another big hurdle that I have is that if I get accepted into a masters program, I don't know how (or if at all) I will afford to pay for it without a TA'ship or big bad loans.