Chances for top neuroscience programs?

Drdlee

I've been working as a lab technician at Harvard for more than a year now and I would like to go to grad school for neuroscience (neurobio) programs (applying this year). I graduated from a large public school with B.S. In math with gpa 3.41 (which I know is below average among PhD applicants). For this gpa I have a very high ambition for where I want to end up with for PhD and I want you guys to tell me if the goal sounds reasonable/unreasonably high. I'm also thinking about the possibility of staying one more year as a tech to further polish my application and reapply next year. I'll appreciate any advice.

To summarize my stat and schools I apply:

UG study: math

UG gpa: 3.41 (better gpa in the last two yrs)

Post-bac study at Harvard: took some relevant UG courses and got 3As and 2A-s (~3.85)

GRE: haven't taken yet but expect Q >164

Research: about 2 years at Harvard so far (~1.5yrs as a tech)

Publication: one submitted (accepted) paper on journal Cell (4th author)

LORs: 2 good letters from Harvard profs and one letter from a prof at a different school (one thing most likely to be mentioned about me is that I work very hard)

Network: have not contacted any faculty yet as I havent developed very specific research interests (working on it)

Schools:

Harvard

MIT

Stanford

Columbia

Yale

JHU

One thing I'm worried about is that my background in biology is weak for grad study in neurobio and the set of skills I have developed as a lab tech is too specific. As mentioned I'll appreciate any advice on how to improve my chance in remaining weeks or for next year.

Edited by Drdlee