SLP D

One of my professors got his CScD at Pittsburgh and he loved the program. He said his pay scale was at a higher level at his hospital due to his doctorate. (Just above six figures).

Do you know if Pittsburgh has any specialized track or what their clinic specializes in? 

Do you know if Pittsburgh has any specialized track or what their clinic specializes in? 

I'm not sure - I just know it's a clinical doctorate so it is less research intensive (if you were to compare to a PhD).  I just started my junior year at CSUN, and so I am just starting out myself...  He made a joking comment that just because you have a PhD, it does not necessarily make you a good clinician.  I do know that it is the only program of its kind in the US.

Pitt's is slightly more medically focused since there's many hospitals in the area. I wouldn't say it's less research focused though. I believe you have to do some presentations or teach a class or something at one point. The SLPD and CsCD are still very brand new to the field so some places aren't sure what to do with them (at least if you want to go the professor/ academia route)... The SLPD is more education-setting focused while the CsCD is medically focused I believe. The professors are known, some are ASHA fellows and they know their stuff. The ones who have graduated from the CsCD do have more leadership roles in their work places now I believe, since you gain many leadership skills int eh program. I think you also do mini rotations following different types of physicians to gain more knowledge about their fields (neurology, etc). If you go to the page and download the manual it'll give you lots of info on classes, extra things and outcomes of past students I believe.

Edited by lookwhoslp