Should I leave my good job to make time for PhD program visits and finishing my applications?

youngcharlie101

It would be awesome to hear your stories. 

I'm a recent grad from Columbia with an MA in anthro. I'm currently taking a year off school for health-related reasons. I got into a PhD program at Syracuse, but it was unfunded, so I rejected the offer and took a year off to get healthy. I have severe anxiety and depression, so it was the right move for me. 

I'm currently taking a course at Rutgers in Hispanic Urban cities. I spent the summer taking an online Manhattan Prep GRE course, and my exam is ONE MONTH AWAY. Cue panic. :o

I still do not feel ready for the exam, and I need to do well. The schools I'm applying to are quite competitive.

I cut back my hours at work. I work till 12:30 every day, but my afternoons are spent running off to my Rutgers class or driving back to New York to speak with my advisers and letter recommenders. I feel like I have no time to study for the GRE, and to be honest, I'm on thin ice at work. I keep asking for personal days just so I can meet up with my professors. 

A part of me wants to leave my job, but I like having the source of income. Plus, life will only be this crazy till December when applications are due. 

I know for a fact that I'm not ready for the GRE. I need more time. So, should I quit my job and delay my exam till November? 

No, I don't think it's a good idea to quit your job. Have you taken the exam in a practice form at all? If you got into a PhD program before, your grades are obviously good. I wouldn't stress out about the GRE too much. Studying can only do so much, anyway, as it's a test that's designed to evaluate your entire pre-graduate experience. You're not going to want to not have that source of income. If you do get in again, you're going to wish you'd had the money for any number of reasons.