What are good schools in GIS?

ScarlettJ

I'm currently a bachelor student in Sweden, and my major is GIS. I'm thinking about applying for a geography MA in the US next year. But geography field is so diverse and I don't know really which schools fit my interests.

I am definitely extremely interested in GIS, spatial analysis, cartography, economic geography, and I have no interest at all in areas like hydrology, climate. Basically I am more interested in the "engineering" aspect of geography. My current GPA is around 3.7 (from a not that famous university though). I have not taken GRE yet, will do that this autumn.

Is there anyone that can tell me which schools out there might fit my interest? I definitely want a relatively good one. Is there anything else except UCSB, Penn State, U of Maine, and U of Baffalo?

Thanks so much!

• 9 months later...

Granted, I did my undergrad there in 2005, but since then SDSU's added even more GIS faculty, if that helps any. That, and sunny San Diego doesn't hurt any ;). There are also Masters of Applied Geography programs, if you want more of a GIS focus without all the theory (bah) stuff that goes along with it. So that's another option as well... (supposedly (who knows) they're supposed to equate to something like a BFA, but in Geography instead of Art, and more like an MS than an MA. Why it's not an MS is beyond me *shrug*)

I'm currently a bachelor student in Sweden, and my major is GIS. I'm thinking about applying for a geography MA in the US next year. But geography field is so diverse and I don't know really which schools fit my interests.

I am definitely extremely interested in GIS, spatial analysis, cartography, economic geography, and I have no interest at all in areas like hydrology, climate. Basically I am more interested in the "engineering" aspect of geography. My current GPA is around 3.7 (from a not that famous university though). I have not taken GRE yet, will do that this autumn.