Nightmare MA experience -- chances at a PhD spot?

RegniRegis

Hi everyone,

I wanted to get your opinion on my situation, so that I can be realistic about my changes at acceptance.

I graduated in May with an MA in medieval history from an okay school in Texas.  It was not a great experience, and it ended up taking me four years to finish the degree.  I know what you're thinking -- jeez, that's a pretty long time for an MA -- and I totally agree, which is why I'm worried.

I spent the first 2.5 years in a very difficult advisor/student relationship.  Essentially, my advisor told me how stupid I was on a daily basis, with the goal of "thickening my skin".  Ok.  Fine.  I will say that I learned an extraordinary amount from this professor, and all of my research was based on Latin primary sources still in their original written manuscript form.  This amounted to between 100-150 documents that I ended up transcribing and translating for my thesis, and I ended up publishing an article on my findings.