DAAD

Horb

I'm thinking of applying for the Summer Intensive Grant (Deadline Dec. 15th). I'm a little concerned. I'm doing a PhD in English, but in my undergrad I did a double major in English and German and studied abroad. My study abroad time was rough (lots of issues getting placed in the correct language level course) and I want to go back to hit advanced for my PhD requirements. I also plan to use my German for research for my dissertation -- I focus on violence theory and Romantic/Victorian periods, so German is very useful.

Anyone have any idea what the likelihood of receiving the grant is? Or just want to chat about the experience? Full year DAAD applicants are welcome to join too!

Hey! I have heard lots of different estimates about the acceptance rate of the grant and I think the most consistent was around 20-30%. I got it last summer but I know some of my peers who applied and didn't receive it. It seemed kinda random though because I don't know my grades to be any better than those who I applied against. 

I did a month-long German course in Berlin after receiving the grant and it was awesome! It paid for my course, accommodations, and travel expenses! And because I was already in Europe doing my exchange I just got to pocket the travel expense money (in the sake of honesty, I told them about the situation but apparently since the money was already allocated to me I just got to keep it). What are your concerns?