PhD Program Suggestions - Theology/Philosophy of Science

Colac

Hey everyone,

I'm an MTS student at Vanderbilt interested in theology and the philosophy of science. A little more specifically, I'm especially interested in divine omnipotence, free will, divine persuasion, and the issues they raise for theodicy. I'm still working out a more specific interest statement while heeding the advice of my adviser and faculty to not get too specific. The advice I've been given from Vandy faculty is that my current interest statement isn't too specific but could use some further chronological refinement. To that extent, I'm interested in 19th century thinkers through current thinkers. For what faculty have told me at Vandy, they're often more willing to admit students with generalized interests than some other schools, with the hope that by the completion of the first year of coursework that the student will have finalized a more specific research area.

I'm presently working on a paper that will largely be a comparative study of divine omnipotence as it pertains to theodicy. I'll be looking at Jon Levenson, Vincent Brummer, and Schelling in the construction of my argument. It's almost guaranteed that this work will form the foundation of my thesis.

My reason for being here, I'm interested in programs that balance philosophy and theology. I don't want to go too far into either, though I'm certainly comfortable being in say a theology department that will allow me access to solid philosophy coursework and vice versa. I'm politically, theologically, and socially progressive so I want to stay away from evangelical schools that would dampen this - understanding that they too would limit career prospects.

I'm geographically open, even willing to go overseas if the program is that strong of a match.

UG GPA: 3.9

G GPA: 3.7 (presently)

GRE: 162/157/5