Any political philosophy MAs in the US?

Skandrino

Hi all,

I am doing a bachelor's degree in Philosophy and have finished a master's degree in Political Science in the Netherlands. Now, I would like to pursue a terminal master's degree in political philosophy & ethics in the US, with a focus on distributive justice (social inequality) and modern theory, preferably for one year. There are several of such programs in the UK, but I have been unable to find any in the US.

In the US, most universities either have only bachelor's (undergraduate) and PhD programmes without a terminal MA (e.g. Harvard/Yale/Princeton/Berkeley/Uni of Chicago/Rutgers), or the MA in philosophy requires you to do courses in all philosophical subfields rather than allow me to specialize in political philosophy (e.g. Tufts, Northern Illinois). From the others listed on http://www.philosophicalgourmet.com/maprog.asp , I cannot really figure out which MAs are suitable for following with only political philosophy and ethics courses because the course descriptions are vague and vary each year. (University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee and Brandeis look interesting though; anyone with knowledge of these?)

I would really like to hear if you know of any universities that fit my interests!

MA programs aren't about specialization, so you're going to be taking a broad list of courses no matter where you go. The best you can probably do is find a program with faculty strength in political philosophy and make use of that, in which case, Milwaukee seems like a good program.