SOP Critiques please? Going for PhD in materials engineering

So I wrote a first draft of my SOP and I would like some helpful critiques if anyone can. 

Background: I am completing a Bachelors in Mechanical Eng and I am applying for a PhD in Materials Science and Eng. GPA: 3.75, 90th percentile verbal and quantitative. I am shooting for top 20 materials schools. 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I want to pursue a doctoral degree in Materials Science and Engineering at University XXXX to study solar cells and other photovoltaics used to generate electricity. I am very interested in the materials used to fabricate solar cells and I would like to work to make them more efficient at producing power and more cost effective for consumers.

As an undergraduate I chose to pursue a degree in Mechanical Engineering because an interest in machinery and equipment that I gained from use on my grandfather’s farm as a child. In my third year at Florida State I took a materials science class taught by Dr. David Larbalestier. He had a great excitement for materials research and urged all the students to think critically about materials. The more I learned about materials, the more I wanted to learn and be involved in the field of materials science. My fourth year I took a thermodynamics course and a large portion of the semester was based around power generation. My professor was very enthusiastic about renewable energy, specifically solar power. He talked a lot about two major issues of solar power is that the panels cost too much and are not efficient enough except in certain environments. I found that I wanted to combine my strong interest in materials science with improving solar panels.