Peace Corps

floatinggreenskull

I'm a senior undergraduate in Musicology/Anthropology. I have always intended to apply for PhD programs in ethnomusicology (essentially, the musical side of anthropology) following graduation, and eventually assume a teaching position somewhere.

As I'm writing this, I am currently in the middle of a semester's long study abroad program in an Eastern European country I've lived in briefly once before. I returned because this area has musical traditions I'd like to research further in my grad studies, so I figured it would be worthwhile to seize an opportunity for a better foothold on the language, do an internship, and perform independent ehtnomusicological fieldwork which will go into my senior thesis (to be completed next semester). 

I have always hoped that graduate schools would look upon this thesis and my fieldwork here favourably, as an indication I am capable of undertaking and completing such a project. To be perfectly honest, I am aiming high...the only way I will ever attend grad school is if I can do so for free. Yale, Columbia, Brown, UCLA, and a few others, to give a gist.

However, lately I've been thinking that I simply want to be a useful human being for a bit. Serving two years in the Peace Corps has always been in the back of my mind, and since I will be graduating next semester, it seems like next year would be the perfect time to do so. I could take a break from academic life and gain more worldly experience. You know, sometimes I'm not even 100% sure that teaching ethno in a uni or even going to grad school for it is exactly the right path. Perhaps spending time away doing something like the Peace Corps could also be useful in helping me to figure this out.