How much should I be reading each week?

katiegud

I know that is a very general question, but I am completely at a loss. I'm in the UK, so my research is very much on my own, and I therefore don't know what to do. About how many articles do you all read each week? (I'm in my first year working on literature review, if you are wondering.)

My labmate and I aim for 4 papers each day. At 30 minutes each (assuming a more thorough skim), this should only take 2 hours. This is excluding papers assigned to us for courses, unless they are also very closely related to our research interests. If you read 4 papers every day, including weekends, you could have almost 30 each week, or about 120 per month.

Edit: I should clarify that this is for us to get more ideas about what we want to do our research in, as well as for general ideas about research in closely related fields. You don't need to thoroughly read every paper. Just get an idea of what they found or think is important.

I think it depends on where you are in your literature review.

If you are in a field with many publications that do similar things, I'm not sure its necessary to read those papers as much as know about them. 

You want to find papers that provide motivation for your dissertation. The background "history" can come later, you want to be able to write maybe a 6 sentence paragraph that states a Hypothesis, a reason for that hypothesis, and what new this hypothesis brings to your subject (intellectual merit).

This is something I wonder about a bit too. It might be dependent on field or even specific research project. For my current project, I have a library of about 200 papers but I probably have only thoroughly read about 20 or so. In the paper that I am finishing up, I think I cite about 50-60 of these papers. For the ones I didn't thoroughly read, I just know what GeoDUDE! wrote above--i.e. their main result and how they got there.