This may sound like an excuse about not getting into a relationship.

reinhard

When I was an undergrad, I never wanted a relationship because I knew I was going somewhere else for grad school (or just leave town in general) and I know long distance relationships are simply illusions. It's eventually going to fall apart.

I am in grad school now and I feel like once I am done, I am going off to another city and repeat this mistake. The thing, I realize now that it's going to be harder for me to make new friends or even meet the opposite sex since I will have fewer opportunities to engage myself in social events (not that I even like to or have the motivational as well...).

How do other people do it? For those of you who are in school and in a relationship, how do you feel it's going to "work out" if you know you are going to somewhere else after a few years?

Life is what happens while you are making plans.

It just doesn't make sense to avoid getting into a relationship because it may not "work out" (easily) several years from now. You also can't evaluate a potential relationship with someone you just met in terms of what might happen several years down the road. It puts an unfair burden on the other person and it's just looking at things from the wrong perspective. Life is happening now, not later. If you are planning on a life in academia, you won't be in permanent place for a very long time. You are looking at 5+ years in a PhD program, plus 1-3+ years as a postdoc (perhaps 5+, depending on the field), and then perhaps a TT job, which may not be your last. But even if you're just in school for 2 years and then get a job, who's to say that that job will be for life and you'll never move? And who's to say your partner won't need to move away for school or for a job?