Weird Timing For My Applying: Do I Still Have A Shot?

Puffer Fish

Hey guys, I'm new here.

I'm applying to Speech Pathology programs, but my undergrad doesn't have an SLP program so I don't have any prerequisites. The only things I really have "going" for me are that my degree is in linguistics and I'm currently interning under an elementary school speech therapist. My GPA is 2.9 and I still have this semester's grades to go. I'm going to try to get an observation with an SLP near where I live after I graduate in December, but that wouldn't be on my application(s).

As a result of not having any prereqs, I'm currently applying to like...one, maybe two programs, because they have an existing pre-grad deferral program.

Everyone's talking about applying to 7 to 15 schools, and here I am with 3 or maybe 4 schools I want to attend. Am I setting myself up for disappointment with this? My school choices are slightly constrained by geography; I'd like to stay on the US's east coast within at least 6 hours' drive of DC, so I can't apply to Idaho or anything ridiculous like that (no offense to any Idahoans though!).

Perhaps.  I think you should go into this with the knowledge that your chances are lower because you don't have the prerequisites, and you are thus limiting yourself to fewer programs without a limited geographic range.  That's okay, as long as you know that upfront.  In the mean time, you should try to take some of the prerequisites inexpensively at a local public university so that you can apply to more programs in the future.

But 6 hours' drive of DC is a pretty big range.  That's pretty much everything from New Haven to Charlotte, and as far west as Columbus, OH.  There are a LOT of universities in that range!