Speech language pathology or nursing

Hey, everyone, I know this message board is full of questions similar to mine, but I was hoping some of you would be kind enough to give some feedback on my particular situation.

I'm a 28-year-old married guy looking at changing careers and both of these options seem attractive to me. I majored in journalism in college, worked at a newspaper for several years and loved it but left because of the pay, lack of prospects in the industry and general decline of the profession. I now work at a desk job that I just can't see myself doing much longer, so I began looking at options. 

These are my requirements for things I would want in a new career:

1. I want to work around people and help them. This is the aspect I loved most about journalism and the thing I miss in my current job.

2. If I'm going to change careers, I'd want to be able to earn enough money so that my wife could stay home with our children during their pre-school years (I believe this would be possible with SLP or nursing, something I never even considered as a possibility in journalism). 

3. I'm willing to go back to school, but not for more than two or three years. I'd prefer not to be in school deep into my 30s. The plan would be for me to quit my job and focus fully on whichever program I end up entering. My wife is a teacher and would support us during that stretch of time (God bless her). 

Other than those requirements, I've pretty much left myself open to any and all possibilities, but have found myself zeroing in on healthcare, and these two options in particular because they seem to fit well and I know some folks in each field who all love their jobs.