General advice/where should I add experience?

cheezliz

Hello! I am a 22 year old young professional with a BA in psychology as well as minors in Human Development and Family Studies, Spanish, and Sex and Gender Studies. I am interested in pursuing a Masters degree in Social Work, but I'm not sure that my application would be strong enough. I graduated with a 3.3 GPA (mostly honors classes, but I did not graduate with honors) in 2013. I have not taken the GRE yet.

I have worked for an environmental company on and off since 2008 (6 years). During high school and college, I worked as an Lead Paint Litigation Intern over summer and winter breaks. When I graduated, I worked at a competing company for 9 months. I returned to the original environmental company as a full-time Lead Paint Case Analyst and have been working there since April 2014 (6 months). I do not enjoy the work, but it allows me to live on my own and save money for my education. Because I spend most of my time reading and summarizing the personal files of low-income, inner-city Baltimore children and their families (medical records, environmental records, DSS, depositions, housing authority, etc.), I believe I can relate my experience here to certain parts of case management. Other aspects of my current job include going out in the field to observe lead-based paint inspections of vacant and dilapidated homes and doing lead-based paint related research. I think the time that I have spent with this company shows a great deal of loyalty and significant office experience.

In my junior year of college, I spent a semester as a psychology of linguistics research assistant but did not gain much from the experience. I am currently applying to a part-time ADHD related research position at Johns Hopkins which will better fit my interests.