PhD in Chemistry - Nanomaterials and Material Science

arani.b52

Hello,

I am a student from India and will be applying for a PhD in Chemistry for Fall 2015 session. My area of interest is nanomaterials and material science.

BS - 70% (1st in class)

MS - CGPA=7.44 (out of 10) ; rank 10 out of 60 in class

GRE = 319 : 155V (67 %ile), 164Q (88 %ile), AWA=5.0 (93 %ile)

TOEFL = 113 (R=28, L=29, S=27, W=29)

Applying to : Chemistry Department; Specialization: Nanomaterials, Material Science

Universities applying to:-

• Ohio State University
  • The Pennsylvania State University
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Washington - Seattle
  • University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
  • University of Maryland - College Park
  • University of Massachusetts - Amherst
  • University of Southern California

Other relevant details:-

• One paper on a joint project with Max Planck Institute under preparation.
  • Good LORs from professors with decent reputation in their fields.

P.S.- I joined Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore for PhD this year. It is the most premier research institute in India. Should I mention this in my application? I ask this because some of my MS professors say that it might do me good since it indicates that I am eligible for research in such a premier institute. Hence it may elevate my profile.

Also, please let me know about how much should by Subject GRE score be to have a positive impact.

Please feel free to suggest me any other good university that suits my profile.

Thanks in advance.  :)