working as lab tech before phD

acwneuro

I am in the process of applying to neuroscience phD programs and my professor suggested that I work as a lab tech for 1-2 years to get more lab experience. I am worried that these jobs are hard to find. I went to a small liberal arts college that does not have a grad school. I am afraid that the larger universities hire the students who went there as undergrads. I want to get additional experience in a neuroscience lab not just general lab tech duties.  I checked out NIH health website and their program sounds good (research pre-phD) but I worry it is really competitive. Does anyone out there have any suggestions about this?  Anyone taken this same route before applying to grad school?  Anyone know anything about NIH programs?

Yes, bio forum has lots of knowledge.

But since I'm here, I'd highly recommend working before starting a PhD as it will teach you new skills, pay you a salary to save up, and help you decide if you want to continue in your field. Sounds like you want some specific neuro experience, and I'm sure there are plenty of labs out there; if you're near NYC there's a boatload!

Ask on interviews how much research independence you'll have so you don't end up being a hired hand. As for NIH, their program is competitive but not necessarily a great situation, it depends on the lab you join. I used to work with someone who did that program, and (I'll be incredibly blunt here) she was a damn idiot and clearly didn't learn anything while she was there. Feel it out, go on interviews, find the right situation and a supportive PI.

I worked for 4 years before starting my program and it has put me far ahead of others in terms of lab skills, hypothesis building, and general lab managerial ability. Classes are an adjustment so maybe only work for 2 years and don't meander like I did. :)