Macro (policy and advocacy) concentrations - recommended work/volunteer experience

RCtheSS

Hello!

I am in the process of narrowing down a list of MSW programs for (hopefully) Fall 2016 enrollment. I'm particularly looking into schools offering a dual degree opportunity within public policy (e.g. Michigan, UT-Austin, Pennsylvania, Washington, UCLA). I currently work as a research assistant at a non-profit social policy advocacy organization in D.C., and would like to pursue an MPP/MSW to continue working within this field.

My question is, do you think two years of policy research would be sufficient for admissions into an MSW program if I make clear that I wish to pursue a policy/research-oriented line of study? I've been thinking about opting for AmeriCorps after working where I am for 2 years (I was thisclose to accepting a position if I hadn't received my current job offer) which could push back my enrollment to 2017 or 2018. I do have previous volunteering experience from college which can attest to my ability to work with different populations within a community. I've been on the look-out for similar volunteer options since I relocated but I'm still getting used to a real full-time schedule.  <_<

Any advice or feedback is appreciated. I realize we're in the midst of then Fall 2015 admissions cycle, so best of luck to you all applying!

I can say that I got into the MSW and MPP programs at UChicago with less experience than that! I ultimately decided not to do the dual degree (partially because I got a scholarship from SSA but not Harris, so it would have been v. expemsive in my eyes) but I only had 1 americorps term between undergrad and grad.