MSW - where to apply?

jjohn488

Hello all!

I am currently a senior psychology student looking to apply to graduate schools to obtain my masters in social work. I attend school in Massachusetts right now, and someday hope to settle down here. However, in my 20s I was hoping to do some traveling and experience some other parts of the country - I was thinking that graduate school would be a good time to do so! I have been looking into applying in both Massachusetts as well as other places such as Colorado and Florida.

One of my professors mentioned that this might not be a good idea because through an MSW program you have internships and make connections in that area. She suspects it will be difficult for me to secure a job back in Massachusetts without those connections after attending an out-of-state program. I'm wondering if anyone has ever done something similar to this/is thinking of doing something similar and has some advice to give me some peace of mind/direction on where I should be concentrating my application efforts. 

Thanks so much!

Unfortunately, I don't have experience attending out-of-state programs. However, I would advise you to volunteer at local human services agencies in Massachusetts before you leave to do your MSW. This will allow you to make those personal connections to local agencies so they'll know who you are after you come back home after grad school. Even if you don't end up going back to Massachusetts, you'll still have had those learning experiences (and resume buffers!) that can help you in the future.

Edited by Nochal

Here are a few options to consider....