Getting book reviews?

I have heard from more experienced PhD students (I'm in my first year) that book reviews are a good way to get started in publishing and get to know editors. I recently read a book that has never been reviewed, so I emailed an editor and asked if she would be interested in a review. Is there any other way to do this? Can I just email the book review editors to see if they have any books that need review? I am in the UK, where PhDs only take 3-4 years, so I need to get started on publishing ASAP. Thanks!

A lot of times if you sign up for a professional society which has a publication, they will ask you if you want to do book reviews. 

For what it's worth, I have been explicitly discouraged from writing book reviews before I have tenure. The consequences for stepping on a land mine far outweigh the benefits of successfully crossing the field.

• 2 weeks later...

While you obviously wouldn't want to write a book review that makes you enemies, perhaps it is a field difference regarding when to do book reviews.  It is also a common recommendation in my field to do book reviews as a way of getting into publishing.  Many journals have information on their webpages about whom to contact to get on the list of people they ask to do reviews.  Especially since you have a specific book you'd like to review, you might email journals in the same area as the book, as you've done, though maybe contact more if you don't hear anything back from the journal you have contacted.

• 2 weeks later...