Advice for undergrad sophomore?

neuropanic

Soooo, probably a bit early, but I'll be a junior after this semester so I'm panicked already. Basically, looking into programs that do work in neuropharmacology, molecular neuroscience, etc. I have a huge list of schools that I'm having a hard time pruning down. I would like to start thinking seriously about where I will be applying as I'm studying to take the GRE. I would also like to see what part of my application should be improved if I were to apply to these schools.

Should graduate Winter 2016/Spring 2017 depending on whether or not I want a fairly easy senior year or to graduate early.

Current GPA is a 3.5, but that's mostly due to getting a very low grade in Orgo I (was able to pull it up to a B in Orgo II and felt really comfortable with the biochem section, so looking forward to that class). I am mostly an A/A- student with like 2 B+'s aside from the Orgo shenanigans and do better in more focused/ upper level courses (motivation issues?), so I except to graduate with a 3.5-3.7ish.

I will be starting in a physiology/pharmacology lab next semester working with seizures doing immunohistochemistry and optogenetics, possibly behavior analysis and should have several publications. I am also required to do two independent projects for my major (BS, biology) and minors (neuroscience, chemistry) requirements. These need to result in at least poster presentations. My lab is with mostly post-docs and grad students, though, so I feel confident that I can get my name on publications- but is not working directly with your PI a negative? Also, pretty sure the lab usually publishes to journals with an IF around 2-3 if that makes a difference.

Right now, I'm starting to seriously look into Yale, UC-Berkeley/Davis, CSU Boulder/Denver, Duke, UNC-CH, UMT, UVA, Scripps, Stanford, UVT, Caltech, MIT, and possibly Cornell or Princeton.