Question about Transcript

hc862

Hello all,

I see that some schools I want to apply do not require an official transcript until the decision is made.

Instead, I need to put an unofficial transcript, and I am a little bit confused which one it refers to.

When I log in to my school grade system, it says "Unofficial Transcript", and when I click it, it shows my record in table view.

I also see that unofficial transcript can be a scanned version of official transcript (since I opened the seal, it is no longer official anymore).

So do you usually put a scanned version of official transcript as an unofficial transcript, or web view transcript?

Also I scanned my official transcript few years ago. Since I graduated already and scanned version is final (already says "degree awarded"), I am thinking about using that.

The thing bothers me is that on the top of my transcript, it says "Printed: MM/DD/2012"

Does it matter? I mean I can try to get a new one, but all the content should be the same except "Printed..."

Can someone help me on this? Thank you so much!

I scanned official transcripts (which were no longer official because I broke the seals) for school because my unofficial transcripts on the websites are kind of a pain to interpret. I also worried that the website transcript wasn't as "right" as a scanned version of the official transcript. What can I say, I'm a worrier.

If nothing has changed since you scanned your official transcript and it shows that your degree was awarded, I don't see why you'd need to redo it. The only thing, to my knowledge, that programs give an expiration date to is GRE scores.

Best of luck!

Edited by ashiepoo72

I also have been getting confused. If a program wants an official transcript but says not to mail it, how does that make any sense? Lol well at least I saved money because I budgeted for ordering and mailing 10 of them at $5 each. Apparently scanning is preferred now.