Good resource for learning statistics?

While I was an undergraduate, I took a statistics class. However, the professor was absent half the time due to illness, and she did not teach us anything beyond t-tests. I am now a first-year PhD student, and I am currently taking an intermediate stats class that is supposed to cover everything up to multiple regression. But my professor is not qualified to teach, and the book does not cover any of the theory or math behind the statistical tests. I desperately want to achieve a deep understanding of statistics. What is a good book that will dive into the theoretical aspects of stats?

• 2 weeks later...

I have An Introduction to Statistical Problem Solving.  I guess it's an okay book.  It definitely covers the math behind the tests as I learned how to do stats by hand before being handed a computer program that will do all the hard work for you. 

I really get more out of reading papers that use the methods I'm interested in or googling methods than reading books on the subject though.  It helps me to see how they're applied in research rather than just learning the method itself. 

And I sympathize with you on the poor stats classes.  My first class was taught by a professor who just didn't give a crap (and was always extremely surprised when I knew all the answers.  Me. A girl. But that's another story.)  I had a very competent professor for my second class except he wasn't very good at teaching the material.  He also had a problem with girls knowing the answers.  Of course, that's what you can encounter when you go to school in the Midwest. 

the book does not cover any of the theory or math behind the statistical tests. I desperately want to achieve a deep understanding of statistics. What is a good book that will dive into the theoretical aspects of stats?

may i interest you in one of the classics, Casella & Berger's Statistical Inference?

it's a pretty awesome book

Edited by spunky