I feel like I'm not applying to enough schools. Help.

ivmeow

Hi guys!

I am currently an Art History major at a large state school, but with a very well renowned art school. I am currently an intern at the state art commission where I work with artist opportunities and both individual and organization grants. I have fallen in love with arts management/admin and policy and have decided to pursue my masters in the program. My biggest problem is that there simply aren't that many schools that offer this program. You can see below the five schools I'm applying too, but I still feel like this isn't enough especially with college admissions being a crapshoot and nothing is guaranteed.

Just in case my stats are:

Undergrad GPA: 3.7

Major GPA: 4.0

GRE: 312 (Not great at all) 

Letters of Rec: Fairly strong

What do you guys think, for my program do I need more schools? And any advice for which ones to add? 

Thanks a bunch! 

To be frank, I have no idea.  Perhaps you can ask this in the Art or Humanities forums?  My best guess is that it would solely rely on how competitive admissions to something such art administration/management is in the first place.  In biology for example there are simply way more applicants than available spots.  As such there is more of a need to apply to more programs just to increase that chance of only one admit (although there are some applicants who only apply to, say, five programs and get into all five).  

I think that if you are at all insecure about getting in somewhere, more is better (if you can reasonably afford it).

I only really have my heart in four programs, but I applied to four more than that because I'm a neurotic wreck. I contemplated applying to even more but I started to feel poor.

pasteltomato - it makes me giggle that you're going into neuroscience and you're a "neurotic wreck" - :D