GRE Advice

Please tell me if there's a better place to ask for advice about GRE scores and I'll move this to that thread! I don't want to be obnoxious asking such a specific question if there's a thread devoted to GRE scores.

So, I've taken the GRE twice now. The first time I got a 149 on quant and a 167 on verbal. I studied quant like crazy and took the test again today, only to improve my verbal to a 168 while my quant stayed at 149.

Is this low quant score going to disqualify me from applying to top tier schools? Some background: I'm 24, I majored in another subject with an undergraduate GPA of 3.6. I'm currently completing prerequisites at UW-Madison's Capstone program and I should be getting all A's and AB's this semester. I work in one of my professor's research labs on campus and have experience babysitting children with speech disorders. I have no other relevant experience, though.

So, should I take the test again or is my overall application competitive enough? 

Again, sorry if this is too specific and THANK YOU for all the help--I'm so stressed!

There is a better place to ask about GRE scores. In the Applications thread, there's a subthread (I don't know the terminology) called GRE/GMAT or something close to that.

Is 149 over 50th percentile? Your verbal ROCKS, congrats on that.

Thanks! Yeah I thought about posting in the general thread but I was hoping to get responses specifically from SLP people. 149 is sadly way lower--I think it's the 37th percentile. I was aiming for 50th but (obviously) fell very short!

That verbal score is really awesome! The quant score is pretty rough....honestly, I would take the GRE again. A score below the 50th percentile is going to hurt you pretty bad. The verbal score is rockin', though, and that might help. Good luck!