US Universities that accept 3 year British Bachelor (Hons) degrees

Hello everyone!

I am new to the gradcafe and in the process of applying to US graduate schools for PhD/Masters in the field of aerospace engineering. I am a bit suprised that some US universities do not accept the 3 year Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) degree (we do only engineering from day one of university!) and am trying to identify the universities that definitely accept British bachelor degrees so that I do not waste my money when applying. I would really appreciate any wisdom and help from everyone here if you have any information.

Universities that have confirmed with me they accept British Bachelors are below:

Purdue University

Ohio State

Penn State

Uni of Southern California

University of Illinois UC and Chicago

University of Notre Dame - Indiana

Thanks for reading!

Hey Georgie,

I'm not sure if there's any other way to figure it out than calling schools and explicitly asking. If they don't know on the spot, they're bound to check with people who do--and that doesn't seem like a fact that a lot of American answerers-of-phones-in-admissions-offices would have on hand.

I know that isn't helping you necessarily; I'm just offering the response that's better than no response. Heh.

Lots of countries, including in Asia and the EU, have 3-year BA degrees. I've never heard of anyone having trouble applying to grad school because of that. When schools say they want a "4-year degree" they mean to distinguish it from a 2-year Associate Degree you can get from a community college in the US, but any good school would know that in many other countries a BA is 3 years, not 4. You could email or call admissions at particular schools and ask, but this really shouldn't be a problem at all.