Low GPA/GRE - 2015 application

syl.tutu

It's that time again! Just want to start a thread where we can share the nervewrecking experience.  I'm currently applying for an MPH to UCLA, University of Minnesota, University of Colorado Denver, UMass Amherst, Oregon State, UI Chicago, University of South Florida.  A little discouraged due to my low GPA and VERY low GRE but I have extensive experience here and there locally and globally.  Also, I'm coming straight from undergrad with public health background.  The statement of purpose is still in the work with the 1st deadline coming up very soon so I don't know how strong it's going to be in the admission panel's perspective. I've just been bombarded with school, research, and a job of which I hope will pay off because they are all public health related. Anyone going through similar experience?? I'd like to hear :)

I'm a student ambassador at Berkeley's SPH so I work closely with the admissions committee. I know their criteria is that if the GPA is low, then they want to see a high GRE. But if the GPA is high, then GRE isn't as much of a factor. They look at this before even getting into the nitty gritty about work experience. Since you can't control your GPA, definitely retake the GRE. There's no harm in working a little longer and applying next year with a higher GRE score. Experiences are essential of course, but they won't admit you if they don't think you can keep up with the academic rigor of their curriculums. Though most of the schools you listed aren't top schools, so I'm sure they will be more lax/have a lower academic criteria. Regardless, I think you'd have a better shot if you waited a year to apply with a better GRE score.