Chances for reapplying

chemtocs

Hi, I am an international student from China. I am currently in a chemistry department a US university. I want to reapply several other schools because I can't join the groups interests me here(no funding).

Here are some basic information:

GRE: v 151, q 168, aw 3.0

TOEFL: 109 (r 27, l 29, s 24, w 29)

undergrad GPA: 3.6/4.0

I have two year's research experience of polymer materials. 2 publications in that field(one is 2nd author, the other is 3rd author). The IFs are both around 3.

I notice that most chemistry department have very little faculties doing polymer. I have a bachelor degree of polymer materials and engineering. So I don't know my chances to apply other department like polymer/macro molecule.

Since I am a first year student, I don't know whether I will be considered equally as other new applicants?

Right now, I have some ideas but I think I should apply several more

department of chemistry, University of Washington,

department of chemistry, Univeristy of Maryland,

department of polymer science and engineering, UMass,

department of chemistry, Stony Brook,

Thanks in advance!

Edited by chemtocs

Your application is quite good (except for the low Verbal and writing GRE scores - red flags of English proficiency?).

You might be able to find polymer researchers in Chemical Engineering departments as well. 

As a first year student, you should write your SOP very well, and explain why the new institution will be a better fit for you. I suggest contacting PIs before applying. I have heard that if you get a rec letter from your current grad school that attests your graduate performance, that would be helpful. 

Good luck!

Your application is quite good (except for the low Verbal and writing GRE scores - red flags of English proficiency?).

You might be able to find polymer researchers in Chemical Engineering departments as well.