No LOR from previous professors

kierrageray

How much do you think this would affect my chances of getting accepted? Just for some background: My undergraduate degree is in psychology but I am actually applying to a public administration program. It has been almost 2 years since I graduated and during this time I have been working in local government as the county wide elections and registration supervisor. I plan on having my letters written by some of my colleagues and thought already having some experience in the public sector may outweigh the fact that I won't have letters from former professors. Not sure if this matters or not but I will be applying to my alma mater in addition to 2 other schools.

In the grand scheme of things, two years post-grad isn't a long time. At least, not long enough to merit not having any LORs from former professors. Most schools want at least one academic ref, if not two, just because it proves that you can take on coursework. The employer ref is awesome for showing that you have practical experience, but it doesn't tell adcomms how you behave in a classroom or less pragmatic setting.

Is there a specific reason that you don't want LORs from your professors?

A lot of schools ask insist on at least one, and in some cases two or even all three of the letters being from former professors. I think having none will not look good - you probably want to limit it to one non-academic reference.

A number of the universities I've looked at closely have said something about it being acceptable not to have LoR from professors after five years of being out of school. Two years might not be enough time to get away with it.