Economic student applying to Mechanical Engineering Master

byakkoshe

Hi. I'm an undergrad student, majoring in Development Economics. Currently, I'm working on my own project that help Karen villagers along the Thai-Myanmar border taking aerial photography with drones to prepare and monitor the land for agriculture. I didn't have much engineering background, but I learn some on my own. I really really love what I do and I want to give it a shot on applying for a master degree in mechanical engineering. The problem is that I don't know about what's the overall picture of studying a master degree will be about, what are the things that graduate students do. As far as I understand, a graduate student needs to find and make a connection with professors that do research that match with the student's interest. Am I correct? Do you have some of your friends who come from social science undergrad and currently studying a master degree in mechanical engineering or related fields? Thank you so much for your comments!

Edited by byakkoshe
Edited title

Well it looks like you are looking for more information, so I would recommend reading topics in the The Forums Overview-->The Menu-->Engineering Forum. Also they are other non-Eng. Majors applying for Eng. masters that can give you some more advice. My undergrad is in Mechanical Engineering but I can give you an idea on the overall picture.

Your main concentrations in a mechanical engineering masters will be the following (but you can take some elective courses in different cores):

1. Thermal/Fluid Systems (Which is thermal dynamics, heat transfer, and Fluid Mechanics w/ CFD)

2. Mechanics & Materials Engineering (Solid Mechanics and Computational Mechanics w/ FEA)

3. Dynamic Systems and Control (Linear Systems, vibration, and Robot Control)

4. Manufacturing & Design (Computer aided design and Manufacturing lines)