Any other Fall 2015 MS in forensic science applicants out there?

dpowe003

I'm not sure if there's a thread for this already. I had trouble locating one. I also am not sure if there is a better umbrella forum for this topic. I just selected the chemistry forum because I'm an undergrad chem major, and I want to specialize in forensic toxicology. If any of the admins feel this needs to be relocated, by all means do!

Anyway, hi everyone! I'm currently finishing up my undergrad BA in forensic chemistry at a public university in California. All forensic chemistry really means at my school is a regular BA in chemistry with a few criminal justice classes added into the breadth requirements. I have been in and out of a few colleges (university and CC level) since I graduated from high school in 2008. I struggled in my early years as I decided what I wanted to do with my life as well as learning how to be disciplined, and for that reason I don't have a great GPA. My cumulative is currently at 3.13, but it has taken me years to bring it back up to that point. I have been at my current university since fall of 2012. I am worried about my academic history working against me as admissions committees look over my applications. I sought out professors I knew within the past year who can testify to my work ethic, including my research advisor, so I'm hoping their recommendations will work in my favor as well as evidence of an upward trend in my transcripts. In addition to finishing up my upper division-level courses, I am currently doing computational chemistry research on a project with toxicological applications.