Seeking Advice in Bad Transcript/GPA

microbecode01

Dear TheGradCafe friends,

I am a college sophomore with double majors in microbiology and mathematics, and I am pursuing a graduate program in the medical microbiology/immunology. I wrote this email to seek your advice and opinion about the impact of my current grades and coursework when I am aplaying for the graduate school. Unfortunately, I have been working hard on adjusting my study strategy apsince my freshman year and I unfortunately have been doing very bad.....I got BC on Calculus I, Biology I, Analytical Chemistry, and Advanced General Chemistry....on this semester, I unfortunately scored F on Organic Chemistry I and D on Immunolgy but I scored A on Multivariable Calculus and graduate-level Inteoductory Biostatististics. If I can show the upward trending on the grades for next three and a half year (I am planning for five years), will the admission committees overlook my past failure? About my failing in organic chemistry I, should I retake the course or proceed with II and the Lab (and upper-level organic chemistry courses) and get the best grades as possible? I have a good knowledge in the organic chemistry I but my qualitative exam-taking skill was the problem (which I have been inproving it since the winter break). Should I re-take the immunology too or take advanced courses?

I have been doing research since my freshman year and I will be doing an indpendent projects in my I munology lab and computational biology lab starting on this semester.

I apologize for the grammatical errors, and I very welcome the harsh advice!