POI is also my potential letter of recommendation?

timetobegin

Quick question if anyone has ever gone through this:

I graduated from an anthropology degree at the end of 2013. I decided to take time off to work, and am now applying to Masters programs. I'm applying to a variety of schools, including the school I did my undergraduate degree. Many of the professors I'm planning to ask for letters of recommendation are also professors I would like to work with, as they're really the people who created my interest in these fields and the reason I decided to further my education in anthropology.

Is there an ethical issue in asking a professor for a letter of recommendation...to their own department? Or asking them for a letter of recommendation, and also mentioning that I'm interested in working with them? I know it must be done all the time, but how does one go about this? It feels awkward to me, I guess because I haven't seen these professors in a year.

Edited by timetobegin

I've done this with a POI that I worked for last summer. He might have been my strongest letter--not just because of the content but the fact that it showed that we had research and personal fit.

If you want to go about this, I would suggest building up the rapport again (which shouldn't be too hard if they remember you) with the intent of working with them in the future. Then it shouldn't feel so awkward to ask them for a LOR.

I personally don't see ethical issues with this, but my POI is cross-appointed with the department I'm applying for and therefore the admissions committee might not even know him. If the POI is the graduate admissions director, I might see issues.