Letters of Recommendation

pickfights

Hi all! 

I'm not planning on applying until fall 2015 for fall 2016 admission, but I'm a nerd and I like to plan. My question is how far in advance should I let people know I would like a letter of rec from them? I graduated college in June 2014 so hopefully I will still be fresh in people's minds, and while I haven't narrowed down the exact people I want to ask, my pool of potentials have all either offered or have actually written me a letter of rec before, so this won't be SUPER out of the blue. I was also wondering how you all got your letters of rec? People have recommended the site Interfolio - has anyone used it? Is it useful? I want to make this process as easy as possible for my recommenders. Anything else related to letters of rec would be helpful.

Thanks! 

I asked my professors casually around the beginning of the school year and again (formally and slightly frantically) when I received a notice that the Emory application offered fee waivers for apps submitted before October 31. I made sure that I had versions of my list of potential schools, Statement of Purpose, CV, and Writing Sample prepared so that my letter writers could have an idea of what my applications were going to look like. My letter writers were my MA thesis advisor, second thesis reader, and a professor I had taken a number of classes with who was helping me with preparing my phd applications. I guess the long and short of this is: ask as soon as you are prepared and sure of your decisions, and be prepared soon (but not too soon). September, 2015.