Anyone else apply to CalTech's C+MS Program?

@sisyphus1: I'm a CS undergrad (international) from not a well known college. Around 11 years of industry experience (system software startup founding member, acquired by a big tech company)

Got an email a couple of days ago from a professor I mentioned in my SOP setting up an interview on campus in early February. The email emphasized that no admission decision had been made so I don't know how the interview relates to acceptance.

Excited and nervous! The professor I mentioned does some of the most interesting work I saw across all of my applications. 

Edited by pascal_barbots_wager

• 3 weeks later...

Yes, there was an interview/visit day on campus for a few dozen CMS/CS/Control/Applied Math applicants - I get the sense the program you applied for wasn't really relevant, and they were instead looking to admit whoever looked like they might fit somewhere in the department - about a week ago. I think a few more were interviewed via Skype because they couldn't travel. They said they would send decisions within a few weeks.

Yes, there was an interview/visit day on campus for a few dozen CMS/CS/Control/Applied Math applicants - I get the sense the program you applied for wasn't really relevant, and they were instead looking to admit whoever looked like they might fit somewhere in the department - about a week ago. I think a few more were interviewed via Skype because they couldn't travel. They said they would send decisions within a few weeks.

I have been asked to interview via skype for their control program (CDS) since I am an international student. Any pointers as to what it was like - was it just an informal discussion about research, or did they test you on related topics? My interview is on 23rd, so I really hope they don't send out offers before then :P 

Also, any idea how many control students interviewed, and how many they are likely to pick?