Multiple Advanced Degrees

ERR_Alpha

We had a speaker yesterday who ever so casually said that we should consider getting a law degree after we get our PhD (we're all biochemists)...  :blink: It got me thinking about how common this is... does anyone on here have experience getting multiple degrees? What motivated you to do so? I'm only a first year PhD so going to MORE school after this seems insane. He also mentioned getting an MBA... although the only other degree I would ever possibly consider was an MPH.

I think it might be becoming increasingly common, but I don't know either. I noticed that one of the programs I applied to (Vanderbilt) offers a JD/PhD program in "Law and Neuroscience". 

Going to law school after getting a PhD in biochemistry, to my ears, sounds like spending a lot of days either arguing about drug regulations or environmental laws. It almost seems like, at that point, you'd mostly be a lawyer who could back-up anything sciency you said with, "I have a PhD in biochemistry". So perhaps this new wave of law+science education represents our lack of scientifically informed lawyers and politicians, who currently make laws governing things that they don't know anything about.

I think it might be becoming increasingly common, but I don't know either. I noticed that one of the programs I applied to (Vanderbilt) offers a JD/PhD program in "Law and Neuroscience". 

Going to law school after getting a PhD in biochemistry, to my ears, sounds like spending a lot of days either arguing about drug regulations or environmental laws. It almost seems like, at that point, you'd mostly be a lawyer who could back-up anything sciency you said with, "I have a PhD in biochemistry". So perhaps this new wave of law+science education represents our lack of scientifically informed lawyers and politicians, who currently make laws governing things that they don't know anything about.

Patents, it means you'll be perfect for working in patent law.