Managing your mental health/illness in grad school

I am not sure how many of you on here have/had suffered from mental illness, but from those that do, I am curious to hear about your experiences in managing it. 

I've been a longtime sufferer of depression (since I was 12), but did not seek treatment/therapy until I was an undergrad. Currently a grad student, i've been on a relatively high dose of zoloft and xanax (prescribed as needed) for the past 2 years. I still have my panic attacks and paranoia every now and then, but overall therapy and medication has been my saving grace. 

I bring this up because there's often this misconception that grad students (even undergrads) give off an aura of "having your life together."

I'm curious to see what anyone else has to say on the topic of mental health/illness. 

My fiance has type 1 bipolar disorder (the most severe type -- features an episode of psychosis) and he's in his last semester of grad school. It did take him awhile to find a medication regimen that was right for him, but his advisor and instructors have been understanding and accommodating the whole way through. Grad students (and faculty!) are only human -- we all have our individual needs. I think the best thing you can do is to communicate/ be upfront with anyone who needs to know about these issues. I'm sure they would rather be aware on the days you might need to take it easy/go to doctor appointments/etc tending to your needs than to be in the dark and wonder where their grad student has disappeared to that day.

You should check if your school has Disability Student Services. Some of them only require documentation from your doctor in order to get enrolled, and from there they may be able to provide services that you may need due to complications of your illness/health. I know that at my school diagnosed depression and other psychological diagnoses counts under such services.