My #1 Committee pick... not so much anymore?

Alright, so I'm an MFA Art student, and it's time to choose a committee. This consists of the head and two other members.

I've been thinking of this one faculty member that has been, by far, the most helpful since I started in Fall 2013. I connect with him on many, many levels, beyond any other professor I've ever had. I was 99% sure about him until today, when I started talking to others about him.

Everyone says that he's really helpful and supportive at first, but later on, he is extremely difficult. Different grads from different years have said this. Choice quotes:

"He's cool at first, but at the last meeting, you'll be duking it out with him."

"If he is into your work that's good. But you have to be 1000% on top of your shit or he will rip you apart especially as chair"

"I wouldn't recommend him for you."

I guess it's hard to swallow, because he really understands and pushes the unorthodox approaches I take (there is another professor who is like that, but a bit difficult to communicate with, and isn't quite as helpful).

I'm now leaning towards not making choosing him as my head, and maybe even not being on my comittee at all. I don't want to be challenged much. I know that sounds lame, but the reasons for this are:

1. I don't deal with stress well at all.

2. I'm just trying to get through grad school - I realized that it's a bit too much for the person I am. I basically got in/received a scholarship because of my nutty ideas and risk-taking, not on my academic standing or research or anyhing that's a part of most grad programs, really. I basically made the application process an art project, and it actually worked.

3. I'm a hedonist, and doing more work than I need to frustrates me.

4. I'm really stubborn, and will be ignoring anything that's not absolutely required, and