Always full funding during PhD at top private schools?

tallulah

Hi,

I'm a student from Germany and thinking about applying to US PhD programs at Business Schools and/or Psychology Departments. I would only apply to prestigious schools because otherwise it wouldn't be worth the effort and personal sacrifices for me. If I get it right, top programs at private schools usually give full financial aid to admitted students (no tuition fees, living stipends etc.).

Still, I sometimes read information such as "It is expected that a similar level of financial aid may be awarded for up to 5 years". I get that the money is contingent upon satisfactory progress, but the word "expected" makes me feel a little bit insecure. Does that mean that in some cases, you don't get funding after some years? I couldn't even afford one unfunded year and I would be hesitant to apply to programs where I'd have to worry about that.

So, short version: How often does it happen that your funding ends before you're finished (assuming that it takes you the regular 5 years)? Especially at top tier programs?

Thanks for any advice!

Business schools in general offer full funding for Ph.D programs.  The programs I've looked at, you can't get a business Ph.D unless you are fully funded by the school.  At least in accounting and marketing programs.  So that means, to me, if you arern't recieving funding, you aren't going to school.  Business research is relitively inexpensive, and business schools get a lot of money from donor alumni and stuff, so usually there isn't quite the scramble for funding as there is in other progams.  From what I can tell, business schools are the only place where this is the norm, everywhere else you have to fight for funding.

From what I can tell, business schools are the only place where this is the norm, everywhere else you have to fight for funding.