Sociology and Anthropology

brandnewshoes

Hey everyone! I am a supremely long time lurker, and thought I would finally say something to distract from the incessant refreshing of the results page. I'm primarily applying to anthropology departments, but have applied to two sociology departments - one of which I've been accepted to (Minnesota). As I'm an international student and have only studied sociology in my country (where it's a combination of traditional sociology and anthropology), I'm curious about the major differences in the two disciplines in the US. Can any broad differences be generalized, or does it just come down to departments and theoretical/methodological leanings? My research interests have to do with political economy in South Asia, so I found myself able to slot into both disciplines, but am curious as to broader differences in coursework, and a post-PhD job market.

Hmm well I think my impression has always been that in the US, soc and anthro have different intellectual lineages, methodologies, and particular histories. soc in the us tends to be more conservative theoretically and politically and to utilize quantitative, demography and statistical analyses far more frequently than anthro or sociology in other countries. anthro in the us tends to be pretty up straight qualitative and ethnographic.