Gap year(s) vs Masters vs straight-to-PhD... How did you decide?

mockturtle

***Can anyone comment on the work situation for a neuro/bio-researcher straight out of undergrad?***

***Which path did you take, and what influenced your decision?***

***Exactly how clueless am I, scale of 1 to 10?***

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I'm a junior in undergrad, planning on a PhD in neuro at some point in the future, and it's getting to be the time that I should really figure out whether I'm going through the grad-school application process next fall.

(Though I'm sure this all largely depends on individual factors, I'd really appreciate some insight into the relative wisdom of each option.)

If I could be somehow guaranteed relevant research-based employment straight out of undergrad, I'd choose a gap year (or two, or three) with no hesitation. Nearly every grad student I've spoken to has *heavily* recommended taking them to accrue experience, and I see why. If nothing else I'm sure it would do a world of good for my PhD-admissions prospects, as while my academics are strong, my research experience by graduation will almost definitely be too little and/or too irrelevant for a good PhD program's liking. And I'd rather not pay for masters-level schooling if I can avoid it.

However, this obviously depends entirely on my likelihood of finding that relevant post-bacc employment! The last thing I want is a year of barista-ing after having put all my chicks in this basket. I could try applying to a little of each, but I don't want to waste my time on reaches that won't happen or on safeties that I could surpass with a little more experience. I also don't know if I'm just being overly biased against masters programs, after seeing so many of my peers go straight to PhD.

Thoughts?