Having Children in Grad School

Cass

I'm a married female MSci student in an entomology program. We've been thinking about having kids and exactly how we're going to make that work. Considering the intensity of my chosen career path and the fact that I'll be the one to carry any biological children (we may adopt, later), timing is important. My wife will be the one to stay home and care for the kids (she's a writer and works almost exclusively from home, so it works out well) but I will still require some amount of recovery and bonding time after giving birth. I've heard from some people that having a baby in graduate school is actually easier, in some ways, than waiting until you're on a tenure track. That makes some sense to me, but I've also heard people say it's insane to even think about it until you're completely through school and in a steady job. The problem is "steady job" is a relative term and I'm not sure how long we'll want to wait considering my wife is 36 now. 

So, what have other people done? What would you do differently, if anything? 

My husband and I have a 2 year old (she'll be 3 next month) and I'm in an MS program, graduating this may, and starting a phd program (hopefully) this August. We're both prior military and waited til we were both out, eight years total, to have our first, so we intentionally planned knowing I was going to grad school. I gave birth in my spring semester, junior year of college. We want three, 5 years apart. That means we'll try to conceive again the year our daughter turns four, after coursework is finished. I'll be overloading on courses to not deal with coursework, pregnancy, and lab work--I know how hard it is from doing it. Then our third, we'll try to conceive during my post doc.