Rescinding an acceptance?

areyno13

So I'm stuck between a rock and a hard place. I'm a student in the US looking to get my MSc in Earth Science. I applied to both University of Waterloo (Canada) and Syracuse University.

I fell in love with Waterloo when I went to visit a couple of weeks ago. The facilities were amazing and the projects were really cool. This weekend I went to visit Syracuse University, again I fell in love with it. I loved the adviser, the students, and the projects (also the stipend is $6,000 more than Waterloo which is nice). 

Typically this would be a no brainer, accept Syracuse over Waterloo. Here is where the problem arises, I was accepted early to Waterloo and while US school typically allow you to decide by April 15th, Waterloo gave me 3 weeks. The deadline happened to be on the day I visited Syracuse. To be honest, when I was going I didn't think I'd like it so much so I wasn't prepared. After realizing I loved it I emailed my adviser at Waterloo and asked for a 2 week extension to hear from Syracuse. 

I hadn't heard back from him by that evening and since my offer expired at midnight I didn't want to take the risk of not getting into Syracuse and losing my offer from Waterloo. I accepted Waterloo's offer and my status is currently: "intent to matriculate." I sent a follow-up email asking him to ignore my previous email, that I had accepted, and I looked forward to talking with him about the future. Sunday I received a response from the adviser saying I could have extra time (and a follow-up email when he read my follow-up email.) I'm kicking myself because I could have had that extra 2 weeks to hear from Syracuse.