For Those Disappointed This Application Cycle

groverj3

I thought I would post my stuff. It might help future students make decisions and whatnot. My situation is kind of unique. I graduated from undergrad in 2011, worked in biotech for about 2 years, applied to PhD programs, didn't get in, ended up doing a masters instead, re-applied to PhD programs, had much better results this time around.

Undergrad Institution: Michigan State
Major(s): Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Chemistry
GPA in Major: Never calculated, but probably not much higher than 3.1
Overall GPA: 3.23
Type of Student: domestic, male

Grad Institution: University of Arizona
Major(s): Applied Biosciences Professional Science Masters - Molecular and Cellular Biology Specialization

Coursework: Grad-level Cell Bio, Molecular Bio, Nucleic Acid Biochem, Bioinformatics, Some business classes (finance, project management)

Overall GPA: 3.70

Thesis/No Thesis: The PSM program is designed for students to do internships and write a report on the internship experience. However, I negotiated with them to do my "internship" in an on-campus research lab and found one that fit my interests in regulation of gene expression and epigenetics. So, I'll be writing up my results in more of a manuscript format, rather than a thesis.

GRE Scores (2010):
Q: 630 (54%)
V: 560 (78%)
W: 5.0 (84%)

GRE Scores (2014):
Q: 156 (64%)
V: 168 (98%)
W: 5.0 (93%)

I don't know if anyone else out there took the old and new versions, but I found the new one much easier. My quant score is probably what landed my application in trash heap at some places, but I don't really think it's bad. You'd think really high scores in the other sections would make up somewhat, but I guess not. Davis told me, specifically, that my GRE scores weren't high enough. Kind of silly, I think.

Also, by the time I applied the first time around my percentile rankings for my 2010 test had dropped a lot (Q - 10%). Probably didn't help matters.