Math Major with low Quantitative score.

despoxcam

I was a bit busy this year with my research and did not put a lot of energy into studying for my GREs.  On my first attempt I got Q: 159 V: 154 and W: 5.  I really want to get into a CS masters such as the UPenn MCIT program or the one at UChicago, specifically targeted to those without a background in CS. However I do believe that they look at GRE scores because a bulk of their applicants come from non quantitative areas like the liberal arts.  Hence the reported GRE average is quite high (at 165 Q and 160 V) and they admit roughly 20% of applicants out of 300 or so every year.  How badly are my chances wrecked for admissions?  

I have a high 3.7 GPA, I studied math abroad and did quite well.  My work experience includes two labs, one of which is an aircraft construction lab, and the second is an aerodynamics one.  I did development economics research in a foreign university and am working on financial signaling research, particularly modeling currency swaps and developing alternatives to econometrics.  

How would admissions think of this scenario where a student comes in with a strong quantitative background built over 4 years but just screwed up on test day?  

It doesn't sound great to have both quantitative and verbal scores well below the average. If your deadlines are coming up, see if they'll accept new GRE scores after the deadline. Basically, I guess what you have to weigh is whether you want to study quickly, pay again for the test and hope your scores can still count, or risk waiting an extra year in case your scores cost you.