Should I put this on my C.V.? How should I/could I?

carlyhylton

Hi all!

I'm not sure if this is a good place to post this, but I don't know of anywhere else I could get feedback about this so I thought I'd try here!

I am an undergraduate psychology major who had been hoping to apply to graduate studies, but now for a variety of reasons I'm not. I hope in the future I will be able to. I am graduating and I have had RAships throughout my undergrad, and I am applying to new RAships now (hoping to start after I graduate). As such, my resume is formatted as an academic curriculum vitae. 

I was recently invited by my honours thesis supervisors to demo our virtual reality environment that we use for our research at the Ontario Science Centre for the Ontario Brain Institute's BrainFest as part of the American Museum of Natural History's Brain Exhibit.

I was wondering if I should put this on my C.V.? How and where would I put this? I ask especially because a position I just applied to wanted experience supporting knowledge translation, and I'm wondering if I can spin this as such....

Thanks for your help!

C

I think if you will actually be presenting it, go ahead and put it under presentations/conferences. However from your phrasing it sounds like your supervisors just proposed that you do it/encouraged you to apply to do it ("..invited by my supervisors.."). Unless it's already been approved by the conference/meeting then I wouldn't put it.

You can only list an activity after you've already done it. Have you? 

I disagree. You can definitely list conference presentations before they happen, once you have been accepted (that is, not after just submitting an abstract, but after receiving an acceptance notification). You simply list the conference with future dates. I personally do something like this: 

[2015]     "Catchy title," Conference of awesomeness, Glorious city, August 2015. 

[2015]     "I am so productive," Conference near university town, City, June 2015.