Would you help a lost brazilian?

Hey guys,

So, I'm an int student (my nickname kind of gives it up haha) and hope to get some advice applying for a phd. I'll finish med school by october next year. I was wondering if there are schools that allow me to apply on 2015 and start at the end of 2016, beginning of 2017. This fall/spring semester is rather confusing. I'm currently thinking about applying to Harvard BBS (dream program) and others in UK, like Oxbridge, KCL, UCL. I'll have a 6 years lab experience, plus two summer internships at Mcmaster and University of Sao Paulo by the end of my undergrad. My grades are 8.2/10. Am I dreaming on applying this year/ to these universities?

Any comment is appreciated!

The way most programs work in the US/UK is that you submit an application in fall/winter (December-January), hear back about admissions decisions in the spring (February-April), and start the program the following fall (September or October). I know it's a bit different from the application cycle in other countries, so hopefully that helps.

As for your chances of getting into those specific programs, I have no idea. I do know that USP is well regarded among academic institutions here in the US so you have at least that going for you!

Good luck!

Edited by womp

I'm Brazilian and just got admitted to both Oxford and Cambridge (for a Master's, but the procedure is similar). It is definitely possible, just work on the stuff everybody else does (have as much meaningful research  experience as possible, perfect LoR, high GRE scores for the U.S, graduate-level courses if applicable and good TOEFL/IELTS scores) and try to get decent faculty contact in target institutions. The next application round should begin in August/September and I recommend you complete your application as soon as possible once they are open. Also, ensure good grades in the GRE and get rid of it as soon as possible (so you'll have time to take it again should you need it).