Best Undergraduate Textbooks

chesmo12

As an undergraduate I sold all of my chemistry textbooks after my classes ended for some reason, not thinking that I would actually find them useful in the long run. Now that I'm gearing up for grad school I would like to start reviewing for the placement exams many schools require incoming students to take. What are your favorite inorganic/organic/physical chem textbooks you used in undergrad?

How much of a difference does the edition make? For example, the Miessler Inorganic 5th edition (2013) is $95 used on Amazon but I found the 2nd edition (1998) for $20. How much would I miss out on by buying an almost 20 year old textbook?

Paula Bruice's Organic Chemistry (I have 6th edition) is one of my favorite textbooks. Easy to read, helpful practice problems, and you should be able to scoop it up pretty cheap on amazon

I liked Levine for PChem in undergrad, but McQuarrie has excellent books as well. Levine's QM is definitely less understandable (although probably more complete) than McQuarrie. 

I never really found inorganic/organic texts I liked, Smith is OK, as is Brown & Foote. Depending on your focus, I'd say pick up March's Advanced Organic, as it's a great book to keep on your shelf. I've taught out of a number of sophomore organic texts, and they all have a huge ratio of useless:useful information, formatted with pretty boxes and not a lot of meat. I feel the same way about most Gen Chem texts. 

I like Organic Chemistry by Clayden, Physical Chemistry by Castellan and Inorganic by Housecroft or/and Atkins.  With the exception of the inorganic books, I sought out the others on my own (they were never required texts).

Honestly, the older editions are fine for placement tests.

Edited by Chai_latte

My favorite chem books (I own the editions listed so if they've been updated I would assume there aren't too many differences):

Organic Chemistry: